Theta Phi Alpha's highest honor bestowed upon women of distinction.

SIENA MEDAL THETA PHI ALPHA FRATERNITY



THE SIENA MEDAL

Theta Phi Alpha Fraternity's highest honor bestowed upon women of distinction.

The Siena Medal is a round gold medal bearing the coat of arms of Theta Phi Alpha and inscribed in Greek with the Theta Phi Alpha Motto: "Nothing great is ever achieved without much enduring." The medal is named for St. Catherine of Siena, the patroness of Theta Phi Alpha.

Founded in 1937, the Siena Medal was established to recognize outstanding women who created a legacy of

Integrity,
Principled Leadership,
Grace,
and Social Change.

Medalists are

Forward Thinking,
Visionaries,
Representing the Best of Humanity,
and the Best of Civility.

SELECTED PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS



1950

Loretta Young was an Academy Award winner for her 1947 performance in A Farmer's Daughter, and went on to win eight Emmy awards for her work in television, but it was her effortless and behind the scenes efforts to improve the lives of women and children in Los Angeles by her active involvement in numerous charities that earned her Siena Medal recognition in 1950.

1956_

Phyllis McGinley, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for her book of light verse Times Three: Selected Verse from Three Decades with Seventy New Poems (1960) in 1961. She wrote over seventeen books.



1964



Irene Auberlin, whose heartbreak at seeing a biracial Korean orphan on a news program, inspired her to begin collecting diapers and other supplies to send to Korea. In time, the relief effort expanded from helping one child, to helping one orphanage, to providing immeasurable services to developing nations. This effort led to the World Medical Relief organization, which was also tasked with developing Michigan's prescription program for the elderly in Detroit.



Theta Phi Alpha®